Once you have decided to pursue a career as an insurance agent, you will need to become licensed. The Maryland Insurance Administration requires that all applicants seeking an insurance license take an approved pre-licensing course. Each of the four major lines of authority (Property, Casualty, Life, Health) requires 20 hours of pre-licensing study. We have your training covered!
Pre-Licensing Training Options:
Classroom Pre-Licensing Training
One of the ways you can satisfy the Maryland Pre-Licensing education requirements (PLE) is by going through our Classroom Pre-Licensing Program to obtain your Property & Casualty licenses. The program runs Monday through Friday from 9:00AM-4:30PM. Each day students attend an instructor-led session to satisfy the 40-hour Maryland Pre-Licensing Education Requirement (PLE).
Members: $250 / Non-Members: $300
Self-Study Pre-Licensing Training (WebCE)
Big I Maryland has partnered with WebCE to offer pre-licensing training solutions to best fit your learning style. You can now complete Property & Casualty and Life & Health training completely online. WebCE provides new applicants with the licensing exam prep materials they need:
What's Next: After You Complete Your Training
Register for Your Exam
After completing your required pre-licensing training, you must pass the state licensing exam. To schedule your examination, visit the Prometric website. Download the License Information Bulletin for additional information regarding registering and scheduling your state licensing exam.
Apply For Your License
Once you have passed the state licensing exam, you can apply for your initial insurance license. There is a transaction fee and a state licensing fee when submitting your application. Upon completing your exam, you will have six months to apply for the appropriate license. You can apply for your insurance license by visiting the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
Maintain Your License
Licensees are responsible for complying with Maryland insurance laws and regulations, including but not limited to timely reporting of changes of address and timely renewing insurance licenses. Maryland law requires producers to notify the Administration of an address change within 30 days.
License Renewal: A licensee must submit an application and renewal fee up to 90 days before the date the license expires. The licensee is solely responsible for renewing the license before its expiration. The Maryland Insurance Administration will send a renewal notice to the email address on file.
Continuing Education: Most licenses require 24 hours of continuing education, including 3 hours of ethics education every renewal period. For more information regarding the Maryland Continuing Education Requirements click here.